Kudos to officials who organized a kick-off tonight to launch new and revitalize old neighborhood watch groups. Doing so shows a real commitment to community policing and partnering with constituents. 

We believe that neighborhoods are safer when neighbors know a little about each other, cooperate in watching out for vandals, thieves and bad players, and stay in contact with local law enforcement. That’s exactly what neighborhood watch programs accommodate.

The Yuba City Police Department, Sutter County Sheriff’s Office and Sutter County Supervisor Dan Flores are hosting the kick-off meeting at Clark Avenue Coffee, 101 Clark Ave., Yuba City, at 6 p.m., according to information gathered by Appeal reporter Rachel Rosenbaum.

Yuba City Community Policing Coordinator Katy Goodson said the idea to revamp the program started in January with Flores.

“We both felt like a kick-off event would be a great way to inform our community and hopefully get more groups established across the city,” Goodson wrote in an email Tuesday. “The kick-off event is meant to be the starting point of hopefully many future meetings across the city and county.”

Since tonight’s event won’t be specific to one area, law enforcement won’t be discussing ongoing issues. Instead, they will be focused on providing information and answering questions about neighborhood watch programs.

“Once the neighborhood watch groups are established and start meeting on a regular basis, the corresponding law enforcement agency can attend those meetings and hopefully work hand in hand with residents to prevent crime in our neighborhoods,” Goodson wrote.

In addition to this evening’s information meeting, citizens can call for more information: For Yuba City residents interested in participating in a neighborhood watch program, call Goodson at 822-4725; for Sutter County residents, contact Sutter County Sheriff’s Community Action Team Leader Andre Licon at 822-7307 or alicon@co.sutter.ca.us.

Our View editorials represent the opinion of the Appeal-Democrat and its editorial board and are edited by the publisher and/or editor. Members of the editorial board include: Publisher Glenn Stifflemire and Editor Steve Miller.

Recommended for you